MilitaryExternal military supportActive
Is Iranian support reaching Hezbollah and the Palestinian armed groups in Lebanon and the Palestinian territories, and is it intercepted on the Lebanese side?
Arrival, not transit — reported transfers, Lebanese seizures, US designations, Lebanese measures and Palestinian-channel evidence, five registers kept apart.
- Opened
- Last reviewed
- Status as of
- Reviews
- 1 since 2026-10-12
- Confidence
- Low confidence
A Watch question is not a forecast. It names the evidence that would change an assessment and records what each review found — including the reviews that found nothing moved.
Where it stands
Standing assessment
Current assessment
Low confidenceAs of
Reported, contested and unattributed. Reuters reported on 7 October, citing two sources, $200m from Iran to Hezbollah in September for the displaced; the State Department says the money "is not there". The US Treasury on 20 August named a courier network carrying cash on commercial flights between Lebanon, Türkiye, the UAE and Iran, and re-designated Hizballah as IRGC-QF-controlled, a US claim. Lebanese forces seized explosives on 1 October, in the week before 12 October and on 12 October; Lebanon ties none to Iran. The flight ban is not reported lifted. No primary evidence of Iranian transfers to Hamas or PIJ since 2025 is found.
Latest reviewBaseline
Opened by the Levant P6 monitoring pass. Baseline: one contested transfer report (Reuters, 7 October, denied by the State Department); the last US action naming an Iranian channel on 20 August; three Lebanese explosives seizures in October, none tied by Lebanon to Iran; the flight ban not reported lifted and the March agrément withdrawal on record; and an empty Palestinian register.
What would change the assessment5 assessment-change conditions · qualitative, as the record states them
A transfer into Lebanon documented by an official finding and not denied by the government whose finding it contradicts
Assessment effectestablishes arrival rather than a contested report and changes what the Lebanese disarmament steps are measured against.
A seizure on Lebanese territory that the Lebanese state itself attributes to Iran or to a supply line to Hezbollah
Assessment effectestablishes interception by Beirut in its own name and is a different finding from a US or Israeli attribution.
A Lebanese decision lifting the flight ban or restoring the Iranian envoy
Assessment effectreopens a route the state closed and is recorded as a reversal of a restrictive measure.
Primary evidence of Iranian transfers to Hamas or PIJ
Assessment effectfills the empty register and bears directly on whether Gaza decommissioning can be complete.
A documented transit or a named network on the Syrian side, recorded on syria/iranian-re-entry
Assessment effectchanges what reaches the Lebanese border and is read here only where it arrives.
Observables5 named · “met” describes evidence, not success
01Test
A transfer into Lebanon or the Palestinian territories reported
Money or materiel from Iran recorded as arriving, by an official finding or by two independent lines, with any denial recorded beside it. Israeli, Iranian and Hezbollah statements are recorded as claims only.
02Test
A seizure on the Lebanese side tied by the state to the supply line
Cash, weapons or explosives seized by the army, the Internal Security Forces, General Security or customs on Lebanese territory — airport, port, internal checkpoint, the Lebanese side of the border — with the state's own attribution recorded verbatim. Seizures inside Syria are the Syria module's.
03Test
A US designation naming an Iranian channel to Hezbollah, Hamas or PIJ
A Treasury or State action that names an Iran-to-Hezbollah, Hamas or PIJ channel, courier or facilitator. Designations of these groups' financing that name no Iranian link are recorded but do not count.
04Test
A Lebanese government measure against the channel
A decision by the Lebanese state on the route rather than the arms — the flight ban's status, the Iranian envoy's status, regulation of Al-Qard Al-Hassan or exchange houses, or a Framework fund-blocking step — recorded with its enforcement where reported.
05Test
Primary evidence of Iranian transfers to Hamas or PIJ
An official finding, a court record or two independent lines documenting Iranian money or materiel reaching Hamas or PIJ in Gaza or the West Bank since 2025. Advocacy material and inference from past conduct do not count.
Review ledger1 entry · opened · newest first, each tied to the review that made it
Baseline
Opened by the Levant P6 monitoring pass. Baseline: one contested transfer report (Reuters, 7 October, denied by the State Department); the last US action naming an Iranian channel on 20 August; three Lebanese explosives seizures in October, none tied by Lebanon to Iran; the flight ban not reported lifted and the March agrément withdrawal on record; and an empty Palestinian register.
Connected system29 canonical records this question runs through · Watch owns the edge; each record shows the question back
Parties and forces 11
Actors
- IranExternal power · patron of Hezbollah and Palestinian armed groups
- HezbollahParty and armed organisation · the northern front
- HamasPolitical-armed organisation · party to the Gaza ceasefire
- PIJArmed organisation · Gaza and the northern West Bank
- LebanonState party · arms monopoly and southern deployment
- United StatesExternal power · mediator, guarantor and Israel's principal ally
- IsraelState party · military presence on three fronts
Means and systems 1
Ground 3
Arrangements and events 9
Relationships
Vigil analysis 5
Watch questions
- Does Iran re-enter Syria — through an embassy, a route or a network?Diplomatic
- Are Hezbollah's weapons moving to the Lebanese state — taken by the army, set on a cabinet timetable or conceded by Hezbollah's leadership?Military
- Does verified decommissioning of weapons in Gaza begin, and does the line Israeli forces hold move back or forward?Military
Open this question in Explore Interactive: select this record and follow what connects to it.
Assessed as of — 2026-10-12 Last reviewed — 2026-10-12