What could change the picture on Levant.
10 standing questions Vigil is following on this conflict, each with the evidence that would change the assessment and a dated review ledger.
Changed this review No active question on this conflict moved in the current review window. Changes through .
Every active question was reviewed and none moved. That is a finding, recorded on the board below.
No changed question matches the current filter.
Watchboard 10 standing questions — the state of each at a glance. Open a row to preview it.
10 questions
Levant10 questionsreviewed
Current assessmentas of · Moderate confidence
No verified transfer since the ceasefire.
Latest reviewBaseline
Opened by the Levant P6 monitoring pass. Baseline: no verified takeover of Hezbollah weapons after 19 June, the cabinet decisions of August 2025 and March 2026 standing without a newer step, Qassem's refusal of 27 September and conditional "containment" offer of 6 October, and no senior leadership change found since 1 April 2026.
Observables4 named
- Hezbollah weapons or sites taken over by the Lebanese army
- A cabinet decision on the arms monopoly's timetable or phases
- Hezbollah's leadership changing its stated position on handing over arms
- A change in Hezbollah's senior leadership or military command
Current assessmentas of · Moderate confidence
Closed. The closure orders for Tulkarm and Nur Shams run to 30 November 2026; no end date for the Jenin order has been found. On 11 October the High Court ordered the Defence Ministry and the IDF to submit a timetable for residents' return by 23 November, accepting that conditions do not now permit return and ordering no immediate return. The Defence Minister said on 12 October that the IDF stays in the camps. UNRWA counted 34,176 people still displaced in August 2026; no return has been recorded.
Latest reviewBaseline
Opened by the Levant P6 monitoring pass. Baseline: Tulkarm and Nur Shams orders to 30 November 2026, Jenin end date not found; High Court order of 11 October for a return timetable by 23 November, with no immediate return; Defence Minister's statement of 12 October that the IDF stays; military order 33/26 of 5 October for a road to Jenin camp; 34,176 displaced (UNRWA, August 2026) and no returns recorded.
Observables5 named
- Each camp's closure order at its expiry — renewed, lapsed or replaced
- The state's filing to the High Court on a return timetable
- The IDF withdrawing from a camp, or residents returning to one
- UNRWA services operating inside a camp
Current assessmentas of · Moderate confidence
None of the bodies operates inside Gaza.
Latest reviewBaseline
Opened by the Levant P6 monitoring pass. Baseline is absence on the ground for every body: the committee in Cairo and not admitted by Israel, no force contingent inside Gaza against two signed participation agreements and a 200-troop first-deployment cap, no reported contingent approval, no police cohort, and Hamas's July dissolution of its emergency committee as the only transfer step on record, a declaratory one.
Observables5 named
- The NCAG working from premises inside Gaza
- A stabilisation-force contingent inside the Strip
- Israel approves a named national contingent
- A vetted police cohort trained or deployed
Current assessmentas of · Moderate confidence
No clearance transfer has been recorded since May 2025, and no yearly deduction has been set under the 8 June 2026 law.
Latest reviewBaseline
Opened by the Levant P6 monitoring pass. Baseline: no clearance transfer since May 2025; no deduction amount set under the June 2026 law; June 2026 salaries paid on 23 September with a NIS 2,000 minimum and no July payment found; correspondent banking continued to 31 December 2026 without a written instrument found; no 2026 donor disbursement with an amount found; the Emergency Coalition announced in September 2025 with no implementation observed.
Observables5 named
- A clearance transfer recorded, or the first deduction set under the June 2026 law
- The correspondent-banking arrangement carried past 31 December 2026, or lapsed
- The next PA salary month paid, with its date and share or minimum
- A donor disbursement to the PA budget with an amount
Current assessmentas of · Moderate confidence
Kerem Shalom is the only operational cargo crossing (OCHA, 2 October 2026); Zikim has been closed since 24 May 2026, and no Erez goods terminal had opened by 8 October (Gisha).
Latest reviewBaseline
Opened by the Levant P6 monitoring pass. Baseline is one operational cargo crossing since 24 May 2026, an unpublished dual-use list with NGO-reported caps, an INGO registration regime upheld by the Supreme Court on 19 May 2026 whose application after June is not established, and the 23 July 2026 IPC snapshot as the latest classification.
Observables4 named
- A second cargo crossing in operation
- A change to the dual-use rules
- The INGO registration regime applied or changed
- A new IPC analysis classifies a governorate differently
Current assessmentas of · Moderate confidence
No weapons are handed over or certified decommissioned, and the line has moved forward, not back.
Latest reviewBaseline
Opened by the Levant P6 monitoring pass. Baseline is no handover, no constituted verification committee, Israel not a signatory to the Roadmap, and a line that has moved forward over the ceasefire to about 60 per cent of the Strip by Israel's own account on 8 October, with targeted strikes acknowledged by the IDF on most days of the week to 11 October.
Observables5 named
- The International Verification Committee constituted
- Israel formally accepts the Roadmap or a successor text
- A first handover of weapons certified
- Israeli forces withdraw from a named segment of the line
Current assessmentas of · Low confidence
Reported, contested and unattributed. Reuters reported on 7 October, citing two sources, $200m from Iran to Hezbollah in September for the displaced; the State Department says the money "is not there". The US Treasury on 20 August named a courier network carrying cash on commercial flights between Lebanon, Türkiye, the UAE and Iran, and re-designated Hizballah as IRGC-QF-controlled, a US claim. Lebanese forces seized explosives on 1 October, in the week before 12 October and on 12 October; Lebanon ties none to Iran. The flight ban is not reported lifted. No primary evidence of Iranian transfers to Hamas or PIJ since 2025 is found.
Latest reviewBaseline
Opened by the Levant P6 monitoring pass. Baseline: one contested transfer report (Reuters, 7 October, denied by the State Department); the last US action naming an Iranian channel on 20 August; three Lebanese explosives seizures in October, none tied by Lebanon to Iran; the flight ban not reported lifted and the March agrément withdrawal on record; and an empty Palestinian register.
Observables5 named
- A transfer into Lebanon or the Palestinian territories reported
- A seizure on the Lebanese side tied by the state to the supply line
- A US designation naming an Iranian channel to Hezbollah, Hamas or PIJ
- A Lebanese government measure against the channel
Current assessmentas of · Moderate confidence
One zone has run the sequence. On 20–21 July the Lebanese army deployed into Froun, Srifa and Zawtar al-Gharbiyeh as Israeli forces left them; no further zone has been named and no Israeli withdrawal beyond the edge of Zawtar is reported. Movement since has gone the other way: the IDF announced operational control of the Ali al-Taher ridge near Nabatieh on 3 September. The UN describes the Israeli-held area as up to 10 km deep and about 55 villages. The last round met in Rome in early August; a Tampa round on 20–22 October is reported, not officially confirmed. UNIFIL has detected no Hezbollah projectile fire since 21 June.
Latest reviewBaseline
Opened by the Levant P6 monitoring pass. Baseline: one pilot zone (Froun, Srifa, Zawtar al-Gharbiyeh, 20–21 July), no further zone and no Israeli withdrawal beyond the edge of Zawtar, the Ali al-Taher ridge taken by the IDF (announced 3 September), the last round in Rome in early August with a Tampa round reported for 20–22 October, and no UNIFIL detection of Hezbollah projectile fire since 21 June.
Observables5 named
- A further zone vacated by Israeli forces and entered by the Lebanese army
- Israeli forces taking a new position beyond the area they held
- A Framework round held, with its venue and outcome
- UNIFIL detecting Hezbollah fire
Current assessmentas of · Moderate confidence
No successor decided. Resolution 2790 ends UNIFIL's operations on 31 December 2026, with withdrawal within a year after; the Council has not acted on the Secretary-General's options of 1 June, and an exceptional six-month postponement of the drawdown is reported under discussion against US reluctance. UNIFIL numbers about 7,500 from about 50 countries. It handed its Khardali position to the LAF 7th Brigade on 20 August. The EU established EUSM Lebanon on 12 October, a training mission it says is not a UNIFIL replacement. The 2024 Mechanism has been suspended since 18 March; the MCG4L publishes nothing.
Latest reviewBaseline
Opened by the Levant P6 monitoring pass. Baseline: no Council decision on a successor, UNIFIL at about 7,500, one position (Khardali) handed to the LAF, EUSM Lebanon established the day this question opened and not deployed, the 2024 Mechanism suspended since 18 March and no public MCG4L output since July.
Observables5 named
- A Security Council decision on UNIFIL's end or a successor
- A contributing state withdrawing or a published change in UNIFIL's strength
- A UNIFIL position handed to the Lebanese army
- A non-UN mission deploying in Lebanon
Current assessmentas of · Moderate confidence
Decided, in part implemented. Area C land registration is assigned to the Justice Ministry (15 February 2026); no title notice for a named block has been found, and on 15 September the Jerusalem District Court temporarily halted the ministry's tender for an operator. The E1 tender's bid deadline of 19 October stands, with award postponed past the 27 October election by the Attorney General; the same court declined to halt it on 8 September. No sovereignty bill has advanced in 2026, and the Knesset is dissolved. The UN records a first seizure in Area A for a settlement road, near Qabatiya. Higher Planning Council approvals continue.
Latest reviewBaseline
Opened by the Levant P6 monitoring pass. Baseline: no first Area C title notice found; E1 bids due 19 October with evaluation and award postponed past the election (Attorney General, 28 September); no sovereignty bill advanced in 2026 and the Knesset dissolved; the Qabatiya seizure in Area A for a settlement road recorded by the Secretary-General; the 9 September Council session's outcome unconfirmed and a 14 October session listed by Peace Now.
Observables5 named
- The first settlement-of-title notice for a named Area C block
- The E1 tender's bids opened or awarded, or a court ruling on it
- A sovereignty or annexation bill at a Knesset reading
- A new land seizure in Area A or B for settlement infrastructure
No question in this area matches the filter.